Listing ID: 80820
Here are the top 10 things you need to know about this business…
1. It made over $459,000 of net profit (after all expenses) over the past 12 months. That’s an average of $38,252 net profit per month!
2. Revenue has continued to trend upward over the 2 years since the business was launched. Check out the trend line on the monthly revenue trend chart in the ‘Attachments’ box.
3. The business is far and away the web’s #1 seller of the brand of products it sells. Furthermore, the manufacturer is willing to grant exclusive rights to the brand/products with a sizable bulk purchase.
4. The business has a huge (an active) social following and customer list. Its Pinterest page gets over 10 million monthly views, and its Instagram page has over 60,000 followers. The business has about 102,000 email subscribers, 68,000 Facebook Messenger subscribers and 23,000 SMS text subscribers.
5. The products have a 50% gross profit margin (even after shipping), meaning they sell for almost exactly 2x what they cost. This leaves a lot of room for advertising.
6. Over the past year, approximately 24% of orders were placed by returning customers who had already ordered products in the past.
7. The vast majority of ad spend is managed by a third-party ad management company. You could instantly increase the annual net profit by $38,000 if you were to bring ad management in-house.
8. Virtually all of the day-to-day work is handled by a small team of Virtual Assistants (VAs), all of whom are willing to stay on for the new owner. This means you (the owner) only need to put in ~20 hours per week to run this multi-million-dollar business!
9. The business utilizes a wide variety of advertising channels and has a well-diversified marketing strategy. This includes an affiliate program, pay-per-click ads (Google, Microsoft, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, etc.) and using micro-influencer marketing. Over the past 8 months (since Facebook’s major ad changes), the business has steadily maintained around a 4.25 ROAS (Return On Ad Spend).
10. Very little money is tied up in inventory. The business typically only has $5,000 to $8,000 worth of inventory at Amazon FBA warehouses. All other orders are drop-shipped directly to customers. What’s more, orders are shipped from multiple fulfillment centers throughout the world (including the United States, Europe and Asia), which ensures fast delivery times worldwide.
ABOUT THE NICHE & PRODUCTS
The business sells a small, ultra-portable version of a type of product that has been around for quite a long time (along with various accessories for those products, including consumables that need to be re-ordered over and over again over time. The store’s Average Order Value (AOV) is right around $90, meaning that the average profit per order is right around $45.
Demand for the product has remained quite consistent over the past 5 years (though this past Christmas shopping season didn’t have its usual spike, likely due to the COVID pandemic).
As mentioned above, this business is far and away the web’s #1 seller of the brand name it sells. This gives the business a lot of sway with the manufacturer, who has even offered to grant the business exclusive rights to sell the brand name with a sizeable inventory purchase. (The owner hasn’t taken them up on this offer yet since he has used most of the profits from the business to invest in real estate, but the offer is still on the table and could be explored by the new owner.)
Please sign the NDA to see the domain name of the website and learn more about the products the business sells.
At its current revenue level, this business requires approximately ~20 owner hours per week to run. This is possible because the owner has a team of Virtual Assistants (VAs) as well as some ad-hoc freelancers in place to handle the vast majority of the day-to-day operations (including customer service, order fulfillment, content writing, graphic design, website maintenance, etc.).
The owner’s tasks consist of the following:
– Overseeing the team of VAs
– Interfacing with the purchasing agent
– Interfacing with freelancers
– Analyzing ad performance & interfacing with the ad agency
– Posting to social media
– Administration and accounting
As part of the sale, the owner will of course train the buyer on all aspects of operating the business.
This business can easily be managed and operated from anywhere in the world.
INCLUDED IN THE SALE
The sale includes all of the following…
– The business name, domain name and website (including all textual and graphical content)
– All software, subscriptions and systems required to operate the business
– All contracts with Virtual Assistants (VAs) and freelancers
– All customer lists and email lists associated with the business (including 101,000 email subscribers, 68,000 Facebook Messenger subscribers, and 23,000 SMS text subscribers)
– All social media accounts (Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, TikTok, SnapChat, Twitter, etc.)
– All inventory on hand at Amazon FBA (typically $5,000 – $8,000 in cost value)
– 45 days of support to train you/your team on how to run the business, manage the team, and pursue growth opportunities
Note: The seller will sign a non-compete as part of the Asset Purchase Agreement
- Asking Price: $1,610,000
- Cash Flow: $459,025
- Gross Revenue: $2,644,277
- EBITDA: $459,025
- FF&E: N/A
- Inventory: $6,500
- Inventory Included: Yes
- Established: 2020
- Property Owned or Leased:N/A
- Property Included:N/A
- Building Square Footage:N/A
- Lot Size:N/A
- Total Number of Employees:N/A
- Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment:N/A
Purchase price includes 45 days of support to train you/your team on how to run the business, manage the team, and pursue growth opportunities
Owner is actively investing in real estate and wants funds for acquisitions
Direct traffic (i.e. people coming directly to the website on their own because they know its domain name) accounted for about 20% of overall traffic over the past 12 months (ignoring the '(Other)' category from the above report). During the same time period, approximately 24% of orders were placed by returning customers who had already ordered products in the past. The owner has done a fantastic job diversifying the business' marketing channels. Following is a breakdown of ad spend over the past 12 months: - Facebook / Instagram - 55.4% - Pinterest - 24.5% - Google - 9.9% - Affiliate commissions - 5.4% - TikTok - 1.5% - Microsoft - 1.1% - SnapChat - 0.8% - Amazon - 0.7% - Micro-influencer marketing - 0.7% As noted above, the business currently outsources the majority of ad management (Facebook, Pinterest, Google and Microsoft) to a third-party ad agency. The owner has been very pleased with the results the agency has achieved and maintained over a long period of time. While the business' Return On Ad Spend (ROAS) was higher before the big Facebook ad shake-up in May 2021, the business' overall ROAS (calculated as total revenue / total advertising costs, including affiliate commissions) has continued to hover right around 4.25 over the past 8 months (June 2021 - January 2022). If you (as the new owner) chose to bring ad management in-house (rather than continuing to pay the ad agency to manage the ads), you could immediately add over $38,000 to the bottom line. Over the past 12 months, affiliates were responsible for generating a total of $150,589 of revenue for the business. Continuing to expand the affiliate network is a great growth opportunity for the business. Using influencers (and particularly micro-influencers) to promote the brand and products has also proven to be an effective marketing technique. Not only do influencer plugs lead to immediate sales, but they also increase awareness about the products and build brand reputation. The United States (25.5% of traffic) and United Kingdom (13.4%) are the only 2 countries that account for more than 7% of total traffic. Italy, Australia, Germany, Spain and Canada are all in the 5-7% range. The remaining 32% of traffic is made up by visitors from countries that account for 3% or less of total traffic. As noted above, orders are shipped from several fulfillment centers throughout the world (including one in the United States, one in Europe and one in Asia) to ensure quite fast delivery times, regardless of where the customer lives.
Top Growth Opportunities 1. Get Exclusivity with the Manufacturer - While the business is clearly the #1 seller of the brand/products it sells, it is far from the only retailer. The manufacturer has indicated that they're open to granting the business the right to be the exclusive retailer with a sizable purchase of each of handful of products (the quantities and prices are both negotiable). The owner estimates that becoming the exclusive worldwide retailer of the brand would instantly increase sales by 30-50%. It would take an infusion of capital to do this, but it is the next logical step to turning the business into a worldwide brand. 2. Stock & Ship (Instead of Dropship) - The business currently uses a purchasing agent, who buyers in bulk from the manufacturer, stocks the products, and handles fulfillment. While this is a very convenient set-up and essentially eliminates the need for working capital, it obviously eats into the profit margin. If you were to buy directly from the manufacturer, warehouse and ship products yourself, the owner estimates that the 50% gross profit margin would likely increase to around 60-65%. At the volume the business is currently doing, that would increase the gross profit margin by around $265,000 to $395,000 per year. 3. Increase Amazon Presence - There is a lot of growth potential on Amazon. The owner didn't initially put much effort into Amazon as he worried it might cannibalize his website sales, but now that the brand is more established he thinks promoting the products on Amazon more would introduce a lot more customers to the brand and products (particularly if exclusivity is secured). Additionally, the business currently keeps a fairly minimal amount of inventory on hand at Amazon, resulting in occasional stock-outs that hurt Amazon rankings and sales. 4. Add New Products - The current catalog is quite small (less than 50 products, the vast majority of which are little add-ons and accessories, not the main product line). The owner hasn't focused much on expanding the catalog. With the customer base and community the business has built up (102,000 email subscribers, 68,000 Facebook Messenger subscribers and 23,000 SMS text subscribers), adding some complementary products could really boost sales. 5. Use a 2% Cash Back Credit Card - While some expenses cannot be paid for with a credit card (including Cost of Goods Sold, credit card processing fees, affiliate commissions, payments to VAs, and a couple others), many of the expenses can be paid by credit card. The owner currently uses a travel rewards card to earn airline miles for personal use. If you were to switch to a 2% cash back credit card (like the Capital One Spark credit card, for example), the cash back on advertising expenses alone would generate $10,400 of additional profit per year. Together with a few other expenses, the bottom line could easily grow by $15,000 per year.
This Business Is Home Based
The venture was founded in 2020, making the business 2 years old.
The deal shall include inventory valued at $6,500, which is included in the suggested price.
Why is the Current Owner Selling The Business?
There are all sorts of reasons why people choose to sell businesses. Nevertheless, the true reason vs the one they say to you may be 2 completely different things. For instance, they might claim "I have way too many various commitments" or "I am retiring". For lots of sellers, these factors are valid. However, for some, these might just be excuses to attempt to conceal the reality of changing demographics, increased competition, current reduction in profits, or a variety of other factors. This is why it is really crucial that you not count absolutely on a vendor's word, however instead, use the vendor's solution in conjunction with your overall due diligence. This will repaint an extra reasonable image of the business's existing scenario.
Existing Debts and Future Obligations
If the current entity is in debt, which lots of companies are, then you will need to consider this when valuating/preparing your deal. Lots of operating businesses take out loans so as to cover items such as inventory, payroll, accounts payable, and so on. Bear in mind that in some cases this can suggest that earnings margins are too tight. Numerous companies fall into a revolving door of taking on debt as a way to pay back other loans. In addition to debts, there may likewise be future commitments to consider. There might be an outstanding lease on tools or the structure where the business resides. The business may have existing contracts with vendors that should be met or may result in charges if canceled early.
Understanding the Customer Base, Competition and Area Demographics
Just how do businesses in the location draw in new consumers? Most times, operating businesses have repeat consumers, which develop the core of their daily revenues. Particular variables such as brand-new competitors growing up around the location, road construction, as well as staff turnover can impact repeat customers and adversely affect future revenues. One vital thing to take into consideration is the location of the business. Is it in a very trafficked shopping mall, or is it hidden from the main road? Obviously, the more individuals that see the business regularly, the better the opportunity to develop a returning consumer base. A last thought is the general area demographics. Is the business situated in a densely inhabited city, or is it situated on the outside border of town? Exactly how might the regional mean house earnings impact future income prospects?